Adrien Joly
1 min readNov 17, 2017

--

Hi Jacob!

No, I did not. After a few months, I asked my friends to cancel their backing subscription and did not push it further.

I did get a few donations thru Next Step for Trello, but that’s it.

Past on my experience, I would not recommend anyone with a committed following of less than 10000 people to rely on services like Patreon. By committed, I mean that these 10000 people should be fans of what you do, and really excited by what you’re going to produce next.

I ended up using an alternative (OpenCollective) for another project: Openwhyd. We barely get 50$/month of donations from 5000 monthly users (100000 users overall). It’s a good start, but we’re very far away from one could call “income”.

Hope this helps! Good luck!

--

--

Adrien Joly

👨‍💻 Software crafter @SHODO, legacy code / tech debt doctor (http://ajo.ovh/pro) 🥁 Drummer of “Harissa”, VR lover, music digger